Please don't forget to leave feedback on the stories you read!

A Waiting Room With a View: Part 2

b7ffh
Bronze Member
Bronze Member

A Waiting Room With a View: Part 2

Post by b7ffh »

Author’s note:

“A Waiting Room with a View” by Mark Once is one of my favorite stories ever. For the past 15 years, I have hoped for a follow-up story set in Dr. Shiffman’s office with another couple. I finally decided to take a try at writing my own. The setting and many of the characters are Mark Once’s. I hope you enjoy the followup! I have tried to retain the spirit of the original. Please let me know what you think in the comments.

I will never forget the summer of 2005. I graduated college in May, married my high school sweetheart in July, and moved to the city to start my first job in August! My wife, Mary, had also graduated college, and was getting ready to start teaching pre-school when school started in September.

We had been in our new home a few days, when the doorbell rang.

Opening the door, I saw a well-dressed, handsome couple who appeared to be in their 40’s standing there holding a freshly made apple pie

“Hi, new neighbor,” the man greeted me. “I am Mark Harris, and this is my wife Beth. We just wanted to welcome you to the neighborhood.”

I shook their hands. “Please come in,” I said, opening the door wide. “I am Larry Greene, and this is my wife Mary,” I introduced ourselves.

“Sorry for the mess, we are still unpacking everything.”

“You guys are better than us. At least your home doesn’t look like a warehouse the way ours did for the first couple of weeks!” Beth reassured us.