Please don't forget to leave feedback on the stories you read!

GI Bill Benefits Pt. 02

Carl Bradford
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

GI Bill Benefits Pt. 02

Post by Carl Bradford »

(This story is set in a world where legalized, non-hereditary slavery is commonplace for serious crime, unredeemed debt, or voluntary self-indenture. All characters who are enslaved or have any intimate/sexual contact with slaves are 18 years of age or older. This is fiction; no one should ever be deprived of free will nor used sexually without his or her uncoerced permission.)

PLEASE NOTE: J.R., the original inventor of the manumission voucher for the new GI Bill, IS THE AUTHOR OF THIS SEGMENT; I just beta-tested it for him, so please give him the credit. Carl.

(11 Months after her enslavement, J.R.’s perspective)

I am not much of a writer at all. I thought that was why I never went into ROTC. When I got out of high school, I was a C student, but it wasn’t what I would call my best effort. Still, I’ve been getting better over time, and I’m going to have my bachelor’s degree next year.

This is partially because of Jacqueline. I’ve been lucky. Last year my friend at the time, Jacqueline Haralson, called me in a fit of panic. She thought her bank was within weeks of foreclosing on her educational loan. After the manumission voucher was signed and sealed, I went back and checked the provisions of that loan. She would have had about 5 weeks, just because of processing, and I’m glad that she and I were able to work things out. The bank would have probably got her and after fees, processing costs, and slave registrations, she would have served 6 to 8 years, instead of the 4 that she was promised to me.